Tags

, , , , , , ,

ImageOk, IMDb has this movie rated as a 6.9 out of 10. Rottentomatoes.com has it rated as a 6 out of 10. Metacritic gives it a 6.3. Am I off my nut? Out of 10, I give it a 72!Image

I went in expecting a remake of the 1939 original motion picture “The Wizard of Oz”. Which btw is one of my favorite Imagemovies of all time. Side note, can you believe that the beautiful Judy Garland is the mother of the frightening Liza Minnelli?!?!Image Yikes!
But like most movies today, it was a story of how things came to be. In particular, who Oz is, where he is from, and how he became the Great and Powerful.

The experience from begging to end was, simply put… awesome. Visually spectacular, which we were all expecting, but unlike most movies that are 3D and graphically stunning, it actually had a great story. It had everything and hit every emotion. I laughed, I cried, I screamed in fear, I felt suspense and curiosity, and really didn’t want to leave the theater even to go to the bathroom for fear of what I would miss. The costumes were gorgeous, the make up and fx were top notch, the cast, come on! Two of the most beautiful women of our day; Rachel Weisz and Mila Kunis, and the expressive James Franco – who brings his own true eccentric personality to the big screen. The talent in this film, the imagination and creativity, the spectacle. Goosebumps people. I will buy this DVD when it comes out. I recommend this film, hands down. Since I gotta be realistic, I give it 5 reels out of 5.

Image
NOTE: I don’t recommend this movie for kids under 10, there are some very loud and scary images.

