Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This movie kicked ass! I know it came out years ago, but I never heard about it until last week. I generally avoid movies centralized around sex, but after reading the parental guide and learning that there was no nudity I had no reason not to watch it. And since we are on the topic, good on Ellen Page for not taking off her clothes for a buck. There is WAYYYY too much focus and pressure regarding sex and nudity these days. I don’t think we should consider it a given that any movie I am going to see in the theater will have T n A. And I don’t think it is logical to expect/assume that 12 or 13 year old kids are having sex. We gotta work harder people. We need to regain some modesty and bring back some good old fashion morals and principles.

Back to business here. Ellen Page,Hard-Candy-film-poster a fellow Canadian, delivers an incredible performance as a 14 year old girl caught up with an online pedophile. She is so very talented and always captures attention though, so it was no surprise that she was electrifying in this film. The movie had me on the edge of my seat, my heart pumping, and my intuitions chomping at the bit. I literally couldn’t wait to find out what was going to happen next. I think this movie would be suitable for kids 10 and older (as a valuable lesson), and I hope that any sexual predators out there see this movie and see how their actions affect people.

I give this film a solid 5 reels out of 5.

Film_reel_svg

